Recipes / Shopping
Agent books a restaurant table
Usability researchers tested booking a restaurant with ChatGPT's agent; it worked but took about 11 minutes and needed human input.
Tool names link to each official site (opens in a new tab). Links marked “aff” are affiliate links. Disclosure
App vs bot, side by side
| Old app / habit | Bot | |
|---|---|---|
| Tool | Reservation apps | ChatGPT agent |
| Monthly cost | Not reported | ChatGPT paid plan |
| Setup | None (already in use) | None (ready to use) · Beginner |
| Your time | Baseline | Negative: about 11 minutes on forms vs about 2 minutes by hand (NN/G) |
| Maintenance | Handled by vendor/you as before | Supervise. |
| Privacy | Data stays with the app vendor | Agent fills forms with your details. |
Full comparison
| Replaces | Reservation apps |
|---|---|
| Bot / agent stack | ChatGPT agent |
| Monthly cost before | Not reported |
| Monthly cost after | ChatGPT paid plan |
| Setup time | None (ready to use) |
| Time saved | Negative: about 11 minutes on forms vs about 2 minutes by hand (NN/G) |
| Skill level | Beginner |
| Reliability | 1/5: NN/G calls it 'Successful, Shaky, and Slow'; needed human input. |
| Maintenance | Supervise. |
| Privacy & data | Agent fills forms with your details. |
| Best for | Watching where agents are headed |
| Not for | Anyone in a hurry |
Pros and cons
Pros
- Did complete the booking
Cons
- Far slower than doing it yourself
How it works
- Describe booking
- Answer clarifications
- Approve submit
Source and evidence
NN/G: 'Successful, Shaky, and Slow'.
Read the original Research source ↗
“Not reported” means the source doesn't say. We never fill gaps with guesses. Numbers marked “per author” or “vendor claim” are the source's own and weren't independently tested. Source last checked 2026-10-16.
Our rating is an editorial opinion based on the public source above, not lab testing. Spot an error? Request a correction.
Plain-text summary (for search and AI assistants)
Agent books a restaurant table. Replaces Reservation apps with ChatGPT agent. Cost before: Not reported. Cost after: ChatGPT paid plan. Setup: None (ready to use), Beginner. Time saved: Negative: about 11 minutes on forms vs about 2 minutes by hand (NN/G). Reliability 1/5: 1/5: NN/G calls it 'Successful, Shaky, and Slow'; needed human input. Best for: Watching where agents are headed. Not for: Anyone in a hurry. Source: https://www.nngroup.com/articles/impressions-chatgpt-agent/
Related recipes
More: all Shopping recipes · AI agents that replace browsing and search
Questions, corrections or ideas?
Spotted an error, want a recipe covered, or have a partnership idea? Send us a message and we'll get back to you.
Starting your own newsletter? Try beehiiv ↗
Affiliate link: we earn a commission if you sign up, at no cost to you. It doesn't affect ratings. Disclosure
What is beehiiv?
beehiiv is a newsletter platform: you write and send emails, host a newsletter website, and grow and monetize a list from one place. We've used it for our own newsletter.
beehiiv says (vendor claims, not tested by us):
- Free plan with up to 2,500 subscribers and unlimited sends
- Built-in website, recommendation network and analytics
- 0% cut of paid subscription revenue (Stripe fees apply)
Good for: starting or growing an email newsletter. Not ideal for: email automations or removing beehiiv branding on a $0 budget (those need Lite or Pro).
Free plan: $0, no card needed. Paid plans from $49/mo billed annually (Lite, up to 1,000 subscribers). People who sign up through our link get a 14-day trial plus 20% off their first 3 months, per beehiiv's partner page. Facts as of Oct 2026, from beehiiv's own website. More about beehiiv →